PDA

View Full Version : Ephedrine + Caffeine - Calories burned per Hour?

DavidG
03-21-2008, 05:22 PM
Hi Lyle,

I'm going to start taking EC at a dose of 25/200 E/C, 3 times per day.

At this amount of 75/600 total each day, how many calories are being burned each hour, or day approx? And of those calories burned, how much of it do you think is coming from fat storage?

Thx,
DavidG

lylemcd
03-21-2008, 06:22 PM
as I recall, the boost in metabolic rate is something like 5% over baseline

it's not huge but adds up over time.

most of it is from fat

DavidG
03-21-2008, 06:59 PM
as I recall, the boost in metabolic rate is something like 5% over baseline

it's not huge but adds up over time.

most of it is from fat

Wow, that's fast. Lyle I'm new to all this but in general do you think that hard-gainers have a metabolism that is above baseline?

My metabolism is below baseline, so I think I understand the greater benefit of EC on metabolism alone. But depending on how far below my baseline metabolism is, can the effects of EC be potentially even greater than someone close to baseline? For example, in the event of someone who has a metabolism that is 20% below baseline such that a huge increase in calories burned, occurs?

lylemcd
03-21-2008, 07:13 PM
in generla, resting metabolic rat doesn't vary taht massively at a given weight, it's maybe +-15% from the loest to highest

what does vary is a component called NEAT (non-exercise activity thermogenesis) and a lot of naturall ylean folks tend to drastically increase NEAT when they overfeed, hence calories get lost as heat

early studies on the EC stack found that it could actually fix a metabolic defect in obese individuals (nervous system output being one of the major parts of metabolic rate).

hope that helps

DavidG
03-21-2008, 07:24 PM
in generla, resting metabolic rat doesn't vary taht massively at a given weight, it's maybe +-15% from the loest to highest