BodyRecomposition Support Forums  

Go Back   BodyRecomposition Support Forums > General information > About this forum: Read this first
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Unread 11-21-2008, 02:50 PM
Bioteknik Bioteknik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lylemcd View Post
that's probably it then, microsoft seems to keep changing the way it handles CSS from version to version and I only set things up for 7 and 8. it's probably te block quote or some crap
yeah.. I've been reading a bunch of the older articles and every time after a quote the margin gets all fudged.. guess I'll dl the newer version of IE.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Unread 11-21-2008, 04:52 PM
lylemcd's Avatar
lylemcd lylemcd is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 22,641
Default

apparently there are enogh people using IE6 that I'm going to have to kludge a fix/new style sheet
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Unread 11-21-2008, 05:23 PM
Myles.Buckley Myles.Buckley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GPS: 50.916752 N, 114.050961 W
Posts: 1,444
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lylemcd View Post
apparently there are enogh people using IE6 that I'm going to have to kludge a fix/new style sheet
A couple of expanded options.

At work our machines are limited to I.E. 6.0 because a large percentage of our internal web applications don't render correctly on i.e.7 browsers. for the affected apps the active code has switches the deliverd page if an I.E. 7.0 rendering engine is detected. The alternate page simply points the end user to download and run a portable-apps version of firefox.

Alternately, you could put some detection code that if it detects an I.E.6.0 browser it will just present a download link of .RTF or .PDF of the content.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Unread 11-21-2008, 05:52 PM
lylemcd's Avatar
lylemcd lylemcd is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 22,641
Default

first I have to figure out why it's not rendering in Ie6 in the first place

it's easy enough to dupe the CSS, adjust it for 6 and put in a second IF clause in the header. current'y it's set for IE generally, I'll just make another one
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Unread 11-22-2008, 08:40 PM
lylemcd's Avatar
lylemcd lylemcd is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 22,641
Default favor

can one of you folks with IE6 check the carb article again. I found what I think is the ix for the weird formatting issue but do'nt have Ie6 to check it myself

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Unread 11-22-2008, 08:49 PM
Myles.Buckley Myles.Buckley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GPS: 50.916752 N, 114.050961 W
Posts: 1,444
Default

It now renders nicely for I.E version 6.0.2900.5512
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Unread 11-22-2008, 09:54 PM
lylemcd's Avatar
lylemcd lylemcd is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 22,641
Default

sweet, thank you for checking
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Unread 11-24-2008, 11:00 AM
Bioteknik Bioteknik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myles.Buckley View Post
A couple of expanded options.

At work our machines are limited to I.E. 6.0 because a large percentage of our internal web applications don't render correctly on i.e.7 browsers. for the affected apps the active code has switches the deliverd page if an I.E. 7.0 rendering engine is detected. The alternate page simply points the end user to download and run a portable-apps version of firefox.

Alternately, you could put some detection code that if it detects an I.E.6.0 browser it will just present a download link of .RTF or .PDF of the content.

yeah.. I had to switch back to IE 6 after on of our databases didn't work properly with the newer versions.

thanks for making it easier to read for us still stuck in the stone age.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Unread 11-24-2008, 11:04 AM
lylemcd's Avatar
lylemcd lylemcd is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 22,641
Default

the fix turned out to be super easy, thankfully. for the 2 people who care, it's actually something dumb about how IE6 handles block quotes and the way that gray line that was there was afecting formatting. I never liked that line in the first place, removing it not only makes it nicer from my perspective but fixed the problem.

I didn't relish the idea of making an entirely new style sheet for folks still living in 2002.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Unread 11-24-2008, 11:13 AM
mpipes mpipes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 316
Default

For what it's worth, it worked fine on Firefox and Safari on Mac.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.